Owning the system

Is your solar system recalled? The 14 CPSC recalls of home solar, inverter and battery equipment since 2011

A Consumer Product Safety Commission recall applies to your home solar system only if a label or part number on a specific component matches the notice. As of November 3, 2026, the commission's recall database returns 14 recalls announced since January 2011 for equipment installed at homes to make, store or route solar power: 5 of batteries, 6 of panels, roof tiles or their parts, 2 of inverters and 1 of a meter combo. The table below dates and decodes all 14; the scope section lists the search terms behind the count.

Recalls arrive late. Of the 13 notices that give a sales window, 7 were announced a year or more after the last sale and 5 two years or more after it. Bosch panels sold through May 2013 were recalled in April 2017, 47 months later, and the median gap was 21 months. A system that matches nothing today can match a notice next year, so the check below is worth repeating whenever a manufacturer, installer or monitoring app sends a safety message.

The 14 recalls in one dated table

The rows are the commission's recalls of equipment that a notice describes as installed at a home to generate solar electricity, store it, or connect the system to the service panel and the grid. They are listed newest first, with each count and each date exactly as the notice states it. The count unit differs by row: units for most, homes for Centex, installations for Suntech, and no named unit for the SolarWorld lug recall. Those figures are therefore not added together anywhere on this page.

CPSC recalls of residential solar generation and storage equipment, from the notice pages (checked November 3, 2026)
Announced (recall number)EquipmentCount in the noticeSold or made, per the noticeHazard and incidents reportedRemedy
Nov 13, 2025 (26-092)Tesla Powerwall 2 AC battery power system (certain units)About 10,500 unitsSold Nov 2020 to Dec 2022, about $8,000Cells can make the unit stop working, then overheat, smoke or burn. 22 reports (6 of smoke, 5 of fire), minor property damage, no injuriesReplacement. Online units were remotely discharged until the new unit is installed
Aug 22, 2024 (24-346)Siemens SolarReady meter combos, two catalog numbersAbout 3,910 unitsMade Aug 2021 to Aug 2022; sold Aug 2021 to Apr 2024, about $640 to $990An interior connection can overheat. 8 reports of overheating, 1 localized fire, no injuriesOn-site inspection, then repair or replacement by a licensed contractor at no cost
Jul 27, 2023 (23-777)GAF Energy Timberline Solar TLS-1 energy shingles and TLS-1 jumper modulesAbout 2,100 unitsSold Nov 2021 to Apr 2023 inside systems priced $40,000 to $100,000Electrical components can malfunction. 1 fire and 5 thermal incidents, roof deck damage in some, no injuriesAll jumper modules replaced and every shingle checked and repaired free. Systems remotely shut off until done, with compensation for lost generation
Oct 27, 2022 (23-705)LG Energy Solution RESU 10H battery, serial prefix R15563P3SAbout 11,500 unitsSold Mar 2017 to Mar 2020, about $8,000Can overheat. 1 report of smoking and fire, property damage, no injuriesRemote diagnostic software update that shuts the battery down if a fire risk is detected; technician visit if the battery is offline
Jan 26, 2022 (22-058)Eguana Evolve 0513U home energy storage system containing LG battery modulesAbout 245 unitsSold to installers Jun 2017 to Dec 2019, $8,000 to $18,000 a unit; full systems $40,000 to $80,000Battery modules can overheat. No incidents reportedFree repair. State of charge limited remotely, then the modules replaced
Aug 4, 2021 (21-175)LG Chem RESU 10H battery, serial prefix R15563P3About 10,000 units, in addition to the December 2020 recallSold Jan 2017 to Apr 2019, about $8,000Can overheat. 5 reports of smoking and fire, property damage, 1 injuryFree replacement. Online batteries modified to reduce overheating risk until then
Dec 16, 2020 (21-055)LG Chem RESU 10H (Type-R) battery, serial prefix R15563P3SSEGAbout 1,815 unitsSold Jan 2017 to Mar 2019, about $8,000Can overheat. 5 reports of fire, minor property damage, no injuriesFree replacement, with interim modifications to reduce overheating risk
Feb 7, 2019 (19-061)Eltek THEIA HE-t string inverters, 2.0 to 4.4 kW (imported by Delta Electronics USA)About 2,600 unitsSold through installers in AZ, NY, TN and WA, Mar 2012 to May 2017, $2,000 to $4,000Capacitors can fail and the cover can eject. 11 reports, 2 of covers ejecting, no injuriesStop using, switch off the inverter and its breaker; free replacement installed by Delta
Apr 13, 2017 (17-131)Bosch roof-mounted modules, model c-Si M 60 NA30119About 28,000 unitsSold through commercial installers Oct 2011 to May 2013, about $300 a panelPanels can overheat. No incidents reportedInstaller confirms the model; free replacement from Bosch
Mar 28, 2017 (17-736)Amphenol UTX PV connectors sold with SolarWorld panelsAbout 97,000 unitsSold Nov to Dec 2016, about $330 a panel with connectorsHairline cracks let moisture in while the system is producing: shock hazard. No incidents reportedFree replacement connector; SolarWorld contacted all purchasers
Aug 21, 2014 (14-260)SolarWorld systems installed with bare-copper grounding lugs (installed after Jun 1, 2010)About 1.3 million in the U.S. and 210,000 in Canada (unit not named)Sold Jun 2011 to Jun 2014, about $1,000 to $10,000Lugs can corrode and break the ground circuit: shock, electrocution or fire. 1 corrosion report, no injuriesLugs replaced with tin-coated ones, after inspection by an authorized agent if the type is unknown
Mar 25, 2014 (14-138)Open Energy OE-34 SolarSave roof tiles on new homes sold by CentexAbout 240 homesNo dates stated; installed by Centex subcontractorsFire. 2 roof fires, no injuriesTurn the system off; free replacement panels installed by Centex
Feb 23, 2012 (12-725)Suntech SolarBlend roof tiles, three model numbersAbout 300 installationsSold Oct 2009 to Mar 2011 in AZ, CA, CO, FL, KS and NV; installed cost $15,000 to $100,000Connectors between tiles can loosen: fire. 1 fire involving six tiles, no injuriesTurn the system off; free inspection and repair
Jan 18, 2011 (11-099)Xantrex GT Series grid-tie inverters, also sold as Sunpower and General Electric brandsAbout 25,000 unitsMade Sep 2005 to Aug 2010; sold to Jan 2011, about $2,500 to $4,000A degrading component can blow the wiring-compartment cover off. 5 reports of covers blown off, no injuries or property damageFree repair through an authorized dealer

12 of the 14 notices name fire in the hazard; the SolarWorld connector recall is a shock hazard and the Xantrex recall describes a wiring-compartment cover blown off by gas from arcing. Thirteen notices report no injury. The August 2021 LG notice reports one, along with five incidents of smoking and fire.

CPSC classifies the remedies as 7 replacement, 6 repair and 1 either (the Siemens recall). That classification hides a lot of variation. The Eguana "repair" ends with every battery module swapped, and the LG 2022 "repair" is software that can shut a battery down. The mechanism table later on this page sorts them by what the owner actually experiences.

Which equipment is in the table and which is not

The table was built from 127 queries of the commission's recall web service at saferproducts.gov on November 3, 2026, using the product-name, recall-title and description filters. Terms included solar, photovoltaic, inverter, inverters, microinverter, optimizer, rapid shutdown, charge controller, hybrid inverter, energy storage, home energy storage, battery, batteries, lithium, LiFePO4, server rack, 48V, off-grid, solar generator, power station, backup battery, Powerwall, solar panel, panels, modules, solar module, roof, rooftop, roof tile and string inverter, plus the brand terms sunpower, generac, tesla, enphase, solaredge, sonnen, sunrun and Encharge.

Queries on enphase, solaredge, sonnen and sunrun in the product-name, recall-title and description fields returned no records on that date. That is a result about those queries and that day, not a statement about any manufacturer's equipment, because a company can notify owners of a problem without a commission announcement and any such notice is outside this table.

The statute draws the second boundary. Under 15 U.S.C. 2052(a)(5)(A), the definition of a consumer product excludes "any article which is not customarily produced or distributed for sale to, or use or consumption by, or enjoyment of, a consumer", so equipment sold only for commercial or utility use may fall outside the commission's recall system. Under 15 U.S.C. 2064(b), a manufacturer, distributor or retailer that obtains information reasonably supporting the conclusion that a product fails to comply with an applicable safety rule or voluntary standard, fails to comply with another applicable rule or ban, has a defect that could create a substantial product hazard, or creates an unreasonable risk of serious injury or death must inform the commission immediately, unless it has actual knowledge that the commission is already adequately informed.

Recalls that matched the search words but fall outside the table are the portable and camping items (two are described near the end of this page), solar-powered lights, umbrellas, power banks, roller shades, a security camera, portable power stations and portable generators. A solar meter combo is in the table because the Siemens notice describes it as the connection point between the utility, a rooftop system and the home's main panel. The main panel upgrade guide covers the service panel and main breaker that equipment sits beside.

Matching your label to a row, one component at a time

A brand name does not decide anything here. Siemens recalled two catalog numbers made in a 13-month window, GAF recalled one shingle model in systems sold over 18 months, and SolarWorld has two separate recalls that touch entirely different parts of a system. The table below lists what each notice tells an owner to match and where the notice says the label sits. Where two sources disagree, both are shown.

What to match and where each notice says to find it (checked November 3, 2026)
RecallMatch onWhere it is printed
Tesla Powerwall 2 (26-092)The model name "Powerwall 2", then the notification in the Tesla App saying whether the unit is includedNameplate label on the side of the unit. The notice gives no serial range
Siemens SolarReady (24-346)Catalog number MC2442S1200SC or MC2442S1200FC, with a build date from August 2021 through August 2022CPSC says the label is inside the front panel. Siemens says it is inside the right panel door, with the catalog number beginning "MC" at top left and a black-ink date stamp at the bottom
GAF Timberline Solar (23-777)TLS-1 energy shingles (about 64 by 17 by 1 inches, about 10 pounds) and TLS-1 jumper modulesThe notice gives no serial or label location. GAF is calling known owners; others are told to ask their installer
LG RESU 10H (21-055, 21-175, 23-705)Serial prefix R15563P3SSEG (December 2020), R15563P3 (August 2021) or R15563P3S (October 2022)Behind the access door of the battery. LG says the serial is at the bottom right, begins with R and has 23 characters
Eguana Evolve (22-058)Evolve 0513U with a serial between ET-000200 and ET-000600Inside the cabinet toward the bottom left
Eltek THEIA HE-t (19-061)"Eltek", "THEIA" and "HE-t" printed on the unit; rated 2.0, 2.9, 3.8 or 4.4 kWFront display panel. The notice lists no serial range
Bosch (17-131)Model c-Si M 60 NA30119, 245 watt peak, about 65 by 39 by 1.65 inchesThe notice names no label location and tells owners to ask their installer
SolarWorld connectors (17-736)Black plastic Amphenol UTX PV connectors with a male pin on one end and a female socket on the other"Amphenol" and "UTX PV" are stamped on the end
SolarWorld grounding lugs (14-260)Bare-copper lug (GBL-4DB, brown) rather than the tin-coated Ilsco GBL-4DBT (silver), on systems installed after June 1, 2010At the panels. The notice says an owner may be able to tell the color from the ground
Centex SolarSave (14-138)OE-34 roof tiles in brown, terracotta or gray on a new home sold by CentexOn the roof. The notice states that other panels on Centex homes are not part of the recall
Suntech SolarBlend (12-725)Model STP050D-5/ZCB (brown), STP050D-5/ZCF (terra cotta) or STP050D-5/ZCG (gray)The notice names no label location
Xantrex GT Series (11-099)Xantrex, Sunpower or General Electric brand, built Sep 2005 to Aug 2010, with a part number from the notice list such as 864-0002 or X-864-0117Brand on the front of the unit, part number on the top

Three of these labels are behind a door or inside a cabinet: the LG serial behind the access door, the Eguana serial inside the cabinet and the Siemens catalog label inside the panel. Have the installer, or the maker's service line, read those labels rather than opening live equipment yourself. A photograph taken by the person who opens it, with the date, is the record you will want when you call.

For a roof-mounted component, the model is often listed on the installer's equipment schedule, which commonly sits in the permit packet or the interconnection application filed with the utility. The monitoring portal for an inverter or battery may show the model and serial as well. Both are faster than a ladder, and neither requires touching anything. Bosch and Suntech owners in particular may have no label location in the notice to rely on, so the installer's schedule is the practical route.

Three LG notices, nested serial prefixes, and a battery that can match all of them

LG Energy Solution Michigan, Inc. (formerly LG Chem Michigan Inc.) is the only maker in the table with three separate notices for one battery model, and their serial prefixes are nested. The December 2020 notice covers serials beginning R15563P3SSEG. The October 2022 notice covers serials beginning R15563P3S. The August 2021 notice covers serials beginning R15563P3. Every R15563P3SSEG serial also starts with R15563P3S, and every R15563P3S serial also starts with R15563P3. Comparing the first letters of your serial with the three prefixes therefore cannot tell you which recall applies, and the remedies differ: a replacement in two of the notices and a software update in the third.

The August 2021 notice says the 2017 to 2019 RESU 10H batteries were "previously recalled for a fire hazard on December 16, 2020", and it counts about 10,000 units in addition to those. The three notices give three prefixes and three remedies but no table that maps one to the other, and the unit counts, 1,815, 10,000 and 11,500, are not safe to add into a count of distinct batteries. Use LG's serial checker for the answer. LG's own page links a check page at lgessbattery.com/us, describes the serial as 23 characters starting with R, and treats the first recall as a free replacement and the second as a software update delivered remotely.

The practical consequences differ. A battery covered by a replacement notice may be modified remotely and then have a technician swap it. A battery covered by the 2022 notice is meant to stay online so the update can arrive. If it is offline, LG's notice says LG, its distributors and its installers are contacting owners to arrange a technician visit, and that an owner whose battery shuts down should not turn it on again. The notices describe a wall-mounted unit of roughly 220 pounds, and the battery location rules guide covers where the model residential code allows such a unit to sit, which also decides how easily a technician can reach it.

Powerwall 2 follows a different logic. The notice names no serial range at all. The nameplate says "Powerwall 2" on the side of the unit, and Tesla's notification in its App decides whether that unit is included. Eguana's Evolve uses a numeric serial range, ET-000200 to ET-000600, and Siemens uses catalog numbers plus a date stamp. Five identification schemes appear among the six most recent notices, which is why the match procedure starts from the label rather than the brand.

What each remedy asks of the owner

The remedy column in the first table reads like a list of free fixes. What the notices ask of the owner varies more than the words repair and replace suggest. The mechanisms group into five.

Remedy mechanisms in the 14 notices (checked November 3, 2026)
MechanismRecalls using itWhat changes for the owner
Remote limit or shutdown while the fix is pendingPowerwall 2 (discharged), LG RESU (modified or shut down by software), Eguana Evolve (state of charge limited), GAF shingles (system shut off)The unit stops storing or producing at the maker's command. GAF's notice adds compensation for the lost generation. The LG 2022 notice says that if the battery shuts down the owner should contact LG and not turn it on again
Technician visit at the propertySiemens (licensed contractor), Eguana and LG for units that are offline, SolarWorld lugs (authorized agent), Suntech (inspection and repair), Delta (removal and replacement), Xantrex (authorized dealer)The firm or its dealer sends the technician; the owner arranges access
Owner switches the system offDelta inverters (cover switch and breaker), Centex tiles, Suntech tilesStated for the owner who has not been contacted, until the firm arrives. The Delta notice tells every owner to stop using the unit
Installer confirms the model firstBosch panels, GAF shingles (if the owner has not been called)The notice sends the owner to the installer to check the label, then to the maker for the replacement
Part swap onlySolarWorld connectors, SolarWorld lugs, GAF jumper modulesThe named part changes while the panels or shingles stay on the roof; GAF also checks each shingle's electrical components

A remote limit has a cost the headline remedy does not show. A battery that has been discharged or shut down cannot cover an outage, and a shingle system that has been switched off produces nothing. The GAF notice is the only one of the 14 that adds compensation for lost solar generation during the shutdown. For a household that depends on stored energy during outages, the power outage guide explains how the system behaves when the battery is not available, and the guide on whether you need a battery covers the trade-off.

The Delta notice promises a replacement inverter installed after the old one is removed. An owner weighing a different inverter design at that moment can price the swap with the inverter replacement guide and compare designs in the microinverter and string inverter comparison.

How late a recall arrives, and how to screen by install year

Because the sales windows are in the notices, the gap between the last sale in a window and the announcement can be counted in months. The measure is only a screening aid. It does not rank any maker's response, because the table mixes a Xantrex notice issued in the month sales ended with a Bosch notice issued four years later.

Months from the end of the sales window to the announcement (13 of 14 notices state a window; checked November 3, 2026)
Announced (recall number)EquipmentSales or build window in the noticeMonths after last sale
November 13, 2025 (26-092)Tesla Powerwall 2Nov 2020 to Dec 202235
August 22, 2024 (24-346)Siemens SolarReady meter combosAug 2021 to Apr 20244
July 27, 2023 (23-777)GAF Energy Timberline Solar shinglesNov 2021 to Apr 20233
October 27, 2022 (23-705)LG Energy Solution RESU 10H (2022)Mar 2017 to Mar 202031
January 26, 2022 (22-058)Eguana EvolveJun 2017 to Dec 201925
August 4, 2021 (21-175)LG Energy Solution RESU 10H (2021)Jan 2017 to Apr 201928
December 16, 2020 (21-055)LG Energy Solution RESU 10H (2020)Jan 2017 to Mar 201921
February 7, 2019 (19-061)Delta Electronics Eltek THEIA HE-tMar 2012 to May 201721
April 13, 2017 (17-131)Bosch c-Si M 60 NA30119Oct 2011 to May 201347
March 28, 2017 (17-736)SolarWorld Amphenol UTX PV connectorsNov 2016 to Dec 20163
August 21, 2014 (14-260)SolarWorld copper grounding lugsJun 2011 to Jun 20142
March 25, 2014 (14-138)Centex/Open Energy SolarSave OE-34 tilesNot statedNot stated
February 23, 2012 (12-725)Suntech SolarBlend tilesOct 2009 to Mar 201111
January 18, 2011 (11-099)Xantrex GT Series invertersSep 2005 to Jan 20110

The median is 21 months, 7 of 13 notices came a year or more after the last sale, 5 came two years or more after it, and 4 came within three months. The Centex notice gives no sales window. Equipment sold within the last 21 months is younger than that median, so a clean result for it is an early result. The absence of a recall holds as of the date in the table and is not a forecast.

Screening by install year narrows the list for a given house. The next table lists the notices whose sales window includes a calendar year. A window is mostly when the equipment was sold to installers or distributors, so it can run a few months or more ahead of the day of installation. Use it to decide which rows deserve a closer look.

Which sales windows overlap which install year

The Centex recall has no window and is left out of the next table; an owner of a new home built by Centex should read that row directly. The count column counts notices, not products: the three LG notices cover one battery model, which is why 2018 shows four notices but two product lines.

Notices whose stated sales window includes the year (checked November 3, 2026)
YearNotices with a window that includes itWhich ones
2005 to 20081Xantrex (11-099)
20092Suntech (12-725); Xantrex (11-099)
20102Suntech (12-725); Xantrex (11-099)
20114Bosch (17-131); SolarWorld (14-260); Suntech (12-725); Xantrex (11-099)
20123Delta Electronics (19-061); Bosch (17-131); SolarWorld (14-260)
20133Delta Electronics (19-061); Bosch (17-131); SolarWorld (14-260)
20142Delta Electronics (19-061); SolarWorld (14-260)
20151Delta Electronics (19-061)
20162Delta Electronics (19-061); SolarWorld (17-736)
20175LG RESU (23-705); Eguana (22-058); LG RESU (21-175); LG RESU (21-055); Delta Electronics (19-061)
20184LG RESU (23-705); Eguana (22-058); LG RESU (21-175); LG RESU (21-055)
20194LG RESU (23-705); Eguana (22-058); LG RESU (21-175); LG RESU (21-055)
20202Tesla (26-092); LG RESU (23-705)
20213Tesla (26-092); Siemens (24-346); GAF Energy (23-777)
20223Tesla (26-092); Siemens (24-346); GAF Energy (23-777)
20232Siemens (24-346); GAF Energy (23-777)
20241Siemens (24-346)
20250None

Two install years against the table

A house with a system installed in 2018 falls inside the stated sales windows of 4 notices: LG RESU (23-705); Eguana (22-058); LG RESU (21-175); LG RESU (21-055). All four are batteries, and three are the same LG model, so the question for that house is whether it has a battery at all, and if so whether the serial matches an LG prefix. Panels and inverters installed in 2018 do not appear in any window in the table. That does not clear them of every possible problem; it means that no listed notice for panels or inverters has a sales window reaching 2018.

A house with a system installed in 2022 falls inside the windows of 3 notices: Tesla (26-092); Siemens (24-346); GAF Energy (23-777). Here the Powerwall 2 window ends in December 2022 and GAF's in April 2023, while the Siemens window runs to April 2024, so the labels to read are the Powerwall 2 nameplate, the TLS-1 shingle designation and the SolarReady catalog number with its build date. The install year narrows the list to three notices, and each of those has its own identifier.

What to do with a match, in order

A possible match deserves a short, orderly sequence, and it starts with reading the label rather than calling a hotline.

First, find the component's label or part number using the identifier table above. Where the notice names no location, ask the installer for the equipment schedule from the permit packet or the interconnection application. Second, compare it with the row, including the date window where the notice has one: the Siemens recall depends on a build date, the Xantrex recall on a part number list and a build period, and the Eguana recall on a serial range. Third, if the row is one of the three LG notices, use LG's serial checker instead of comparing prefixes by eye. Fourth, if the equipment matches, contact the firm using the contact line listed in the notice, and ask for a written confirmation of the remedy and the date of the visit.

Fifth, while you wait, do what the notice says and nothing more. The Delta notice tells owners to stop using the inverter, turn off the switch on its front cover and switch off its breaker. The Centex and Suntech notices tell an owner who has not been contacted to turn the system off. The LG, Tesla and Eguana notices describe remote steps the company takes, and the owner's part is to keep the unit online and answer the company's contact. Do not restart a unit the company has shut down; the LG notice says so for its battery.

Sixth, keep a file: the photograph of the label, the notice number, the date of each call, and the confirmation of the remedy. If the equipment caused damage, that is a claim question for the policy, and the homeowners insurance guide explains how a standard dwelling policy treats owned panels. If the remedy removes panels from the roof, the disposal and recycling guide covers where old modules can go.

Finally, a clean result is also worth recording. A note in the system file that the label was checked against the 14 notices on a given date turns a half-memory into a record for the next owner of the house, and for a buyer's inspector. The maintenance routine guide has a yearly checklist that this check can join.

What to have in hand before calling about a match

  • A photograph of the label or nameplate that matched, taken by whoever opened the cover, with the date.
  • The recall number and announcement date from the table, and the contact line printed in that notice.
  • The installer's equipment schedule or the permit packet page that lists the model and serial.
  • The date the system was installed and switched on, in case the sales window needs checking.
  • The monitoring portal screen showing the unit online or offline, because several remedies depend on it.
  • A note of every call: date, name of the person, and what was promised.

Leased systems and PPAs: whose notice is it

A household that leases its panels, or buys their output under a power purchase agreement, lives under equipment it does not own, and none of the 14 notices mentions leased, financed or third-party-owned systems. The definition of a consumer product in 15 U.S.C. 2052(a)(5) covers an article distributed "for the personal use, consumption or enjoyment of a consumer in or around a permanent or temporary household or residence", wording that reads on use rather than on who holds title. Whether a particular lease contract changes anything is a question for a lawyer who has read it.

What differs is who the maker can reach. The commission's recall handbook says recalling companies build direct notice from registration cards, sales records and "contracting for service", and by working with distributors, installers and service personnel. For a leased system, the sales record and the service contract may name the financing company or the installer rather than the household. All three LG notices list Sunrun, a residential solar company, among the distributors that sold the batteries, which shows who sold the units and says nothing about who owns or leases them. The Siemens notice says Siemens is contacting distributors directly, and the GAF notice tells owners it has not reached to ask their installer. None of them says that a household in a leased home will be called, so the household should start the contact.

The order that works: find the contract and note which party owns and maintains the equipment, which the lease, buy and PPA comparison lays out structure by structure. Photograph the labels, because a photograph is evidence whoever owns the unit. Send the provider the notice number and ask in writing whether the component matches and who schedules the remedy, and keep the reply. The household lives with the equipment either way, so a reply that never comes is a reason to call the commission's hotline, not to wait. If the provider closes or is sold, the guide on a solar company that closes covers who succeeds to the contract.

Recall, warranty claim, service bulletin and software update are four different papers

The commission's handbook describes a corrective action plan as any type of remedial action a company takes, and says that a corrective action requiring a public announcement and a remedy for affected consumers is what is called a recall. The test for a recall is therefore public announcement plus remedy, and the proof is a recall number in the commission's database. A company letter without one is something else, however urgent its tone.

A service bulletin is the clearest example. The handbook lists service bulletins among the examples of targeted notice, one of the ways a recalling company reaches people, so a bulletin can carry a recall message. A bulletin that arrives with no commission announcement is not in the table above. It may describe a real fault, and the reporting rule is separate: the handbook says a company must report to the commission within 24 hours of obtaining reportable information, that a company unsure whether the information is reportable may take a reasonable time to investigate, which should not exceed 10 working days unless a longer time is reasonable, and that the staff's consistent answer to a company unsure whether to report is "When in doubt, report." A report is not itself a public recall. The recall is the announced corrective action plan.

A warranty claim runs on the warranty's own terms: its years, its energy-throughput limit for a battery, its conditions on who installed and who serviced. A recall is separate from the warranty, so a battery that has outrun its warranty can still sit inside a recall, and the remedy text in the 14 notices states no claim deadline. The battery warranty guide and the roof warranty guide read the warranty side.

A software update can be the recall remedy itself. The LG notice of October 2022 describes remote diagnostic software that shuts the battery down if a fire risk is detected, and the Powerwall 2 remedy includes remote discharge. An update a maker releases routinely, with no recall number, is not the same, though a monitoring app may show both. For targeted notices sent by e-mail or postal mail, the handbook asks that the words "Recall Notice" or "Safety Recall" feature prominently at the top and on the front of any envelope. A message with neither those words nor a recall number should be looked up in the database before it is treated as a recall, and the maker can be asked whether a commission notice exists.

What the main recalls ask of a household at home

The Powerwall 2 notice asks owners to keep the system online and read the Tesla App, which is the record of whether a unit is included. Units that are online were discharged remotely until the replacement is installed, so a household that counted on the battery for backup has no stored energy to draw on in the gap. The notice says the batteries were sold through Tesla.com and certified Tesla installers from November 2020 through December 2022.

The Siemens notice describes the SolarReady meter combo as the connection point between the utility supply, a rooftop system and the main panel, and says the panel may hold the branch breakers for all or part of the home along with the main breaker service disconnect. Siemens is contacting distributors, and the notice tells owners to contact Siemens to learn whether their unit is included, so the first move is the owner's. The remedy is an on-site inspection and a repair or replacement by a licensed contractor at no cost, which is work on the home's service equipment. Ask Siemens and the contractor what the visit means for the home's power supply before the date is set.

GAF says it is calling known owners by phone and that other owners should ask their installers. Affected systems were shut off remotely until the work is done, with compensation for monetary losses from the lost generation. The notice does not say how the loss is measured, so keep the monitoring history from before the shutdown. The same-month comparison in the maintenance guide gives a baseline.

The Eltek THEIA notice tells every owner to stop using the inverter, switch off its front-cover switch and its breaker, and call Delta, which removes the unit and installs a replacement. The notice mentions no payment for lost generation. Only the GAF notice does. While the inverter is off, the home buys from the grid what the system would have produced.

Contacts as printed, and when they stop working

Contact lines are printed here as they appear in the notices dated 2019 or later; the earlier notices are linked in the Sources list. Companies change numbers, merge and close, and the commission's own recalls page says remedy data may change daily to reflect updates to company operating status or remedy availability. Treat each line as a starting point.

Contact lines printed in the notices (verify before relying on them)
RecallTelephone as printedWebsite as printed
Tesla Powerwall 2, notice of Nov 13, 2025877-961-7652, Monday to Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. PTtesla.com/support/energy/powerwall/own/powerwall-2-replacement
Siemens SolarReady, notice of Aug 22, 2024800-756-6996, Monday to Friday, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ETsiemens.com/us/en/products/energy/low-voltage/solarready-meter-combo-safety-recall.html
GAF Timberline Solar, notice of Jul 27, 2023888-838-5567, Monday to Friday, 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. ETgaf.energy/important-safety-message
LG RESU 10H, notices of Dec 2020, Aug 2021 and Oct 2022888-737-8104, Monday to Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. ETlgessbattery.com/us
Eguana Evolve, notice of Jan 26, 2022800-667-6478, Monday to Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. ETeguanatech.com/recalls
Eltek THEIA, notice of Feb 7, 2019888-770-7142, Monday to Friday, 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. CTeltek.com, then Product Recall

If a printed line does not answer, call the commission's consumer hotline at 800-638-2772, which the commission lists on its recalls page. For a closed company, ask the hotline whether a remedy is still being offered. The guide on a solar company that closes covers who still owes what when the installer is gone.

Searching the commission's database and subscribing to alerts

The recall page at cpsc.gov/Recalls opens a search form titled "Search Recalls & Product Safety Warnings" with a start date and end date, a Hazard menu and a Category menu. For this equipment, set the dates from the install year onward and read the titles for solar, inverter, battery, energy storage and meter. Do not filter on fire alone: the SolarWorld connector notice describes a shock hazard and the Xantrex notice a cover blown off, so two of the 14 are not announced as fire hazards. The page does not describe a keyword box, so the title scan does the matching. It says its recall data updates weekly as new recalls are announced and that remedy data may change daily.

The same page invites visitors to subscribe for recall emails and offers a recall RSS feed, which is the quickest way to hear of the next notice without repeating the search. If the form misbehaves, the page gives the consumer hotline, 800-638-2772. Reports of harm from a product are a separate database: SaferProducts.gov says it publishes unsafe product reports in a searchable public database and lets the published data be downloaded. Pair the alert with the yearly label check so the comparison happens even when an email is missed.

Selling the house or changing insurer with a recall in the file

None of the 14 notices says whether a later owner of the equipment is covered, and none states a claim deadline, so a match that is still open is a fact about the equipment that a buyer will inherit unless it is closed out. Close it before listing where possible. If the remedy is pending, keep the maker's written confirmation, the notice number and the date of the visit with the label photograph, which the checklist above already collects. A buyer or a buyer's inspector may ask for that file, and the clean-result note described earlier is the same document.

If the system is leased, the transfer or buyout path in the guide to selling a house with leased solar decides who deals with the maker after closing. If equipment on the roof damaged the house, the loss is read under the policy form, which the homeowners insurance guide takes apart for owned and leased panels. The record of dates, calls and label photographs shows what was known and when.

Reporting a product that overheated, smoked or shocked

The commission's SaferProducts.gov site takes reports of harm or potential harm from consumer products. The site says each report is reviewed by commission staff and consumer product safety experts, who decide what actions to take, and that a report could provide information that contributes to a decision to seek a recall, penalties or new safety regulations. Reports are published in a searchable public database. A company named in a report can respond, and its comments may be published alongside the report. The site also notes that the commission does not guarantee the accuracy of information submitted by people outside the agency.

That process runs in parallel with the manufacturer's remedy, not in place of it. A report goes to the commission; the replacement or repair comes from the company. An owner with an overheating battery or a scorched inverter cover should do both, and should take photographs before anything is moved. The database is also searchable by a buyer or an owner who wants to see whether others have reported the same equipment, with the caution on accuracy in mind.

Portable and camping panels that look like a match but are not in the table

Two recalls came back in the searches for panels and are left out of the table because the notices describe portable products. The January 2016 RNG recall (16-725) covers Renogy 100-watt bendable solar panels, about 1,500 sold online at Amazon, eBay and Renogy-store.com from May 2015 through October 2015 for about $300, with 11 reports of overheating and no injuries. The notice does not say whether the panels were for homes, vehicles or portable use, so it is listed here rather than in the home table. The remedy is to stop using the panels and return them for a replacement, and the notice shows a contact update dated August 10, 2021.

The February 2025 Goal Zero recall (25-159) covers model 98715 Solar Series Combiner cables, about 530 sold online from October 2023 through September 2024 for about $70, used to chain Nomad-series portable panels that fold out and are set up by consumers for camping and other applications. Two fires with property damage were reported, and the remedy is a refund. Neither notice describes a roof-mounted home system, but an owner who also keeps a portable set for a cabin or an outage should check them.

Solar recall questions

How do I know whether my Tesla Powerwall is part of the recall?

Only certain Powerwall 2 units are covered, and the notice gives no serial range. The nameplate on the side of the unit must read "Powerwall 2", the unit should be online, and the Tesla App shows whether that unit is included. Tesla remotely discharged affected units that are online until the replacement is installed. Call the number printed in notice 26-092 if the App shows nothing.

Is a brand that is not in the table safe?

A brand that is missing returned no matching record in the November 3, 2026 database search. That is not a safety finding, and it says nothing about notices a manufacturer sends owners without a CPSC announcement.

Can I still get the free remedy years after the recall date?

The remedy text of the 14 notices states no claim deadline. The commission says on its recalls page that remedy data may change daily to reflect a company's operating status or remedy availability, so contact the firm, and call the commission hotline at 800-638-2772 if the firm does not answer. Photographs of the label and the date of your call are worth keeping.

What if the company named in the recall has closed?

The 2014 Centex notice records that the tile makers, Open Energy and Applied Solar, were no longer in business and that Centex ran the replacement itself. For other cases, ask the commission's hotline whether a remedy is still open. The guide on what happens if your solar company closes covers warranties and monitoring access.

I lease my panels or buy power under a PPA. Who receives the recall notice?

None of the 14 notices addresses leased or financed systems, so the notice does not say. A maker builds direct notice from sales records, service contracts and the installers and distributors it works with, and those may name the provider rather than you. Read the labels yourself, send the provider the notice number in writing and ask who schedules the remedy, and call the commission's hotline at 800-638-2772 if no answer comes.

Do I need to act if the recall remedy was only a software update?

Yes. The October 2022 LG notice relies on a remote update that shuts the battery down if a fire risk is detected. Keep the battery powered and connected so the update can reach it, and if it is offline, ask LG for a technician visit. If the battery shuts down, LG says to contact it and not turn the battery on again.

Where do I report a solar or battery product that overheated?

Report it on SaferProducts.gov. Each report is reviewed by commission staff, may contribute to a recall decision, and is published in a searchable public database, where a company named in it can respond. Reporting does not start the repair, which comes from the maker, so contact the maker as well.

Next action: photograph the labels on the inverter, the battery and the meter this week, compare them with the identifier table, write the date of the check into the system file, and switch on the commission's recall emails so the next notice reaches you before the next annual walk-round.

Sources and verification

The table lists recalls announced by the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission only, and each row comes from that recall's notice page. It does not cover manufacturer notices outside a commission announcement, or recalls by other regulators. The queries behind the table were run on the commission's recall web service on November 3, 2026 (product-name, recall-title and description filters, with the terms listed in the scope section), and a missing brand means no matching record on that date. Counts are as each notice states them, in different units, and are not added together. Contact lines are those printed in the notices and may have changed. Nothing here is an engineering, legal or insurance opinion, and the label on your equipment and the maker's own confirmation outrank this page. The page ranks no installers and makes no recommendation between brands.